Return to Website

GLO's Exposed Discussion Forum

This is the forum area where you can discuss topics related to the Biblical exposure of Greek organizations. All posts are reviewed; if they are offensive they'll be deleted. 

Any copyrighted material contained herein is for: criticism, comments, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. All used in accordance with the Fair Use Exception 17 USC 107. 

GLO's Exposed Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Why Should I not Pledge

In as much as I am mature, older and somewhat wise and biblically well versed; I do not have all answers to all things. I am a Pentecostal Minister and former Baptist co-pastor. I’m also, a single father of two kids ages; 13 and 7. Moreover, I’m a 43 year old graduate student, in the final phase of being “investigated” by Omega Psi Phi inc.and I have been advised to be prepared to begin the “intake” -aka- pledge process in October 2009.

As a Church official, I have been particularly impressed with the service and activism that I’ve seen from Omega over the years. In fact, it seems that with substantially smaller numbers, the frat makes a larger impact in charitable undertakings than any single denomination and perhaps many denominations combined. In the church community, in general, pastors seem to demand a homogenous - "one size fits all" lifestyle.Leaders often use the name and word of God to exert control over members. We tithe, we give offerings, we sow seed, give gifts and invest, only to see a new building going with a proud sign saying “your tithes at work.” But, what are we doing to impact the world? How are we being fishers of men? We are preaching to the saved, attacking other organizations (frats –masons-Catholics-gays etc.) yet, we never address our own indifference towards the outside world. WE HAVE BECOME A CLOSED CLUB OF CHRISTIAN CHRONIES.