General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Present Perfect vs. Present Perfect Continuous

I am getting mix signals from different sources regarding Present Perfect (PP) and Present Perfect Continuous (PPC).
'When the acction occured' can not be used with PP at all, only with PPC.
The base form for PP is "I have done my homework" and for PPC is "I have been doing my homework for 2 hours."
So far so good, got it.
However, I am also seeing in numerous examples this two types of sentences.

Example A)
(PP) I have studied English for 3 years.
(PPC) I have been studying English for 3 years.

Or

Example B)
(PP) I have studied English since 2011.
(PPC) I have been studying English since 2011.

Are they both correct, and this tenses are interchangable in the "for" and "since" form?
Or to be on the safe side, should I stick with PPC as an only correct form in both examples?

Thank you!
Binka nljubinka@hotmail.com

Re: Present Perfect vs. Present Perfect Continuous

PP refers to an action that is complete at the time of speaking.
PPC refers to an action that has started in the past and is still in progress.

(PP) I have studied English for 3 years.
- Because you are continuing to study, no action has been completed. You cannot use PP.

If you changed it to: Until this point, I have studied English for 3 years. Then the PP form can be applied because you are completing the action and it's no longer continuous.

(PPC) I have been studying English for 3 years.
- For this example it states that you have started studying 3 years ago and are continuing to study. Your action has started in the past and keeps going.

(PP) I have studied English since 2011.
- Because no action has been completed you cannot use PP.

(PPC) I have been studying English since 2011.
- For this example it states that you started studying in 2011 and are continuing to study.

I'll give a couple more examples that are mistakes and less ambiguous so it's easier to understand.

Mistake 1: