General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
dangling modifier question (help me Mr. Mattew)

Hi!
I'm studying grammar and i came across an answer i couldn't understand
I was taught that participle phrase always describes the subject when it is placed with a comma

this is the sentence i dont understand (its correct according to the sat answer book)

Another visitor noticed my fascination with a tiny writing desk and its drawers, dotted with pin-sized knobs.

i understand that DOTTED WITH PIN-SIZED KNOBS is modifying the drawers but how is that possible?? doesn't participle phrase modify the subject???

for instance, all these are correct

1. "Thinking about the day ahead, Ed set off for work".
2. "Ed set off for work, thinking about the day ahead".
3. "Ed, thinking about the day ahead, set off for work"

thanks you

Re: dangling modifier question (help me Mr. Mattew)

Kaley_vancouver
Hi!

This is the sentence I dont understand (it's correct according to the SAT answer book).

Another visitor noticed my fascination with a tiny writing desk and its drawers, dotted with pin-sized knobs.

I understand that DOTTED WITH PIN-SIZED KNOBS is modifying the drawers, but how is that possible?? Doesn't participle phrase modify the subject???

PM: In that example, the comma is not really necessary, but it is obvious that the past participial clause "dotted with pin-sized knobs" is referring to (modifying) "drawers". It could not possibly be the case that the visitor was "dotted with pin-sized knobs", could it? That would be silly. It may help you if you think of it as relative construction: "a tiny writing desk and its [drawers that were dotted with pin-sized knobs]", where the underlined relative clause is clearly modifying "drawers".
Kaley_vancouver
For instance, all these are correct

1. Thinking about the day ahead, Ed set off for work.
2. Ed set off for work, thinking about the day ahead.
3. Ed, thinking about the day ahead, set off for work.